MIA and why!

I’m so sorry to have been MIA a lot lately. It was not my intention, just a lot going on. I have a new job! It’s a warehouse job that runs four days a week overnight. Please pray for me. That is the first of the exciting news. We also found a special Montessori program for my SPD kinder baby. She will start in one month. It’s only half days and we will fill in with homeschooling as needed. It’s great, everything is hands on and she doesn’t need to sit or do book work.

I wanted to talk about a new bedtime and morning routine that we have started in preparation for all the changes that are coming. I have 2 weeks to prepare them for sleeping in their own rooms all night and making sure I get enough sleep in the morning while still getting G to school on time.

First, I put them to bed at seven every night to insure early waking time. The most recent tool I have bought for them is this amazing kid’s alarm clock. We have an alarm set for 7:30 a.m. and that’s also the “wake up time”. It’s lit yellow all night and then when the alarm goes off the clock turns green so they know that it is OK to get out of bed. This way I know they are in their rooms until at least 7:30 a.m. and I can sleep a little later. Now, my kids normally wake up well before the alarm goes off, so after they fall asleep I put their tablets on the bookshelf so they can quietly play them in bed. This combo of schedule and alarm clock has given me at least an extra two hours of sleep in the morning, and, since I will be getting off at 2 a.m., it will be a life saver.

Next are the preparations we do the night before. Every night I clean up around the house and pack any bags that need to be packed for the next day. We have several types of bags. We have book bags, soccer bags, gymnastic/dance bags that I like to pack ahead of time in case someone else has to take the kids to their activities. The other prep that we do the night before is breakfast. We use Tupperware containers, and the girls help me pack their breakfast every night. Then when they get up in the morning they can easily grab the containers and eat them while they watch a show. I also gain a little extra sleep from this and they love being more independent. Tonight, they decided on strawberry mini muffins, grapes, blueberries, dried apricots, and banana chips. They also put a juice box in the fridge so they have their own drink. After they eat their breakfast, they clean up their mess and get dressed with clothes that were also picked out the night before. After getting dressed, they wake me up. The last couple of days, I have woken up when the alarm goes off in order to listen to them (just to make sure everything is running smoothly), but that may not be the case when I’m working.

I should have just enough time after they wake me to do G’s hair, throw on some clothes and run her to school. At least I do in my head. Then I’ll come home do L’s hair and get myself ready for the day.
Please let me know if you have any tips or tricks, or if you have any question while I embark on this new journey.

 

My next post will be my menu plan for this busy, working, schooling family! Thank you for sitting in on my wonderfully hectic life!

Leave a Reply

