One food, many ways!

I’m currently working on another post but I thought I’d put this out in the meantime. I know I can’t be the only one who is not fond of leftovers. In fact, I hate eating leftovers. I wish I could only make exact amounts but that’s hilarious right? As much as I hate them eating leftovers is a must in my house. my greatest grocery budget savers is finding inventive ways to use leftovers. Many times I will make one meal and make a completely new meal using the leftovers. I’m going to share my secrets with you here!

 

Chicken: whether it’s a rotisserie or a bunch of breasts that you cook.

Meal one: chicken with veg and potatoes

Meal two: chicken and rice soup

Meal three: chicken quesadillas

You may not have enough chicken for all three but they are just ideas.

 

Steak: you cook a couple steaks on the grill.

Meal one: steaks, veg, pasta salad

Meal two: steak fajitas

Meal three: steak salad/steak wrap

This one we use frequently.

 

Chili: I tend to make big batches of chili. I really have no idea who I plan to feed with all this chili.

Meal one: chili with all the fixings

Meal two: chili cornbread casserole

Meal three: chili cheese potatoes

 

French bread/hamburger buns: we always use these but never finish them off.

Meal one: pasta and bread

Meal two: hamburgers and chips

Meal three: french bread/ hamburger bun pizzas

 

Left over veggies or unneeded veggies:

Meal one: stir-fry

Meal two: veggie soup

Meal 3: omelets

Those are the major leftovers we use to make new meals. I hope these ideas inspire you to use your leftovers in new and creative ways and help you keep your grocery budget low. please let me know the ways you use your leftovers!!

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “One food, many ways!

  1. youmeanme July 19, 2016 / 5:34 pm

    Love this list!

    With summer, I’ve had some problems with buying too much fruit. After they’ve been used for snacks I cut them up (unpeeled) and put them in with equal white sugar and water to create syrups. The now boiled fruit gets topped with a crumble topping and baked so we get an easy dessert.

    Liked by 1 person

      • youmeanme July 19, 2016 / 5:42 pm

        Thanks! We’ve done strawberry, peach and plum sauces. If I don’t have enough to make a pie I freeze them. I thawed off a batch from last month this weekend and made a mixed fruit pie 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • youmeanme July 19, 2016 / 5:57 pm

        Haven’t tried that…guess we know what’s happening tonight 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

